Therapy is for whimps.

Really Though!?

I had this song stuck in my head tonight -because I think of some PRETTY gay shit when I’m “relaxing” after a hard days’ work… I’m talking like ‘Anchorman’ love scene-type gay! (But just as funny)…So in one of my weird, erratic thoughts, this song was playing somewhere within it.

So, I look it up on YouTooobe and find this!

The novelty had ‘dropped the robe’ after about 90secs….BUT THOSE 90secs I tell ya!….

Like, are these the real lyrics?! REALLY THOUGH?! I’m too lazy-slash-incapacitated right now to bother looking, so if anyone cares to ever enlighten me with a correct answer, please feel free… I was just so in awe of the deep and poetic lyrics- Not to mention the spot-on presentation (Bonus points for the long shot of an Oriental fishing boat at Dusk!!?!!!) -that I had to stop everything I was (not) doing and immediately share the gospel that is Elvis Costello..

One response

  1. Yes I can attest, the lyrics are real. Below I confess, Wikipedia excert.

    I’ll Never Fall In Love Again” is a popular song by Burt Bacharach and Hal David. Originally written for the 1968 musical Promises, Promises, it soon became one of Bacharach and David’s most enduring songs. It was nominated for Song of the Year in the 1969 Grammy awards. A version with studio singers was released as a single under Burt Bacharach’s name in 1969, and achieved a low chart position.

    The song’s narrator ruminates on the various troubles that falling in love brings — including “enough germs to catch pneumonia” as the result of a kiss — and declares that (at least until tomorrow) she’ll “never fall in love again.”

    “I’ll Never Fall In Love Again” became a hit for Bobbie Gentry when it reached number one on the UK singles chart for a single week in October 1969. In January 1970, it became a number six hit on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and a number one hit on the Adult Comtemporary Chart for Dionne Warwick. Ella Fitzgerald’s version became a minor hit in September 1969 and charted briefly. It was also the best-charting single in a cover version for Scottish band Deacon Blue, peaking at #2 in the UK Singles Chart

    03/05/2009 at 14:11

Leave a Reply

